soiree square graphic 2018.jpg

This year marks our 31st  Service to the Arts

Celebration!  Each year, Medina

County Arts Council Trustees honor well respected and

deserving individuals and organizations in our

community for their passion, efforts and commitment

to the Arts in Medina County.

Join us for a delightful summer evening of wine,

delicious hors d’oeuvres from Medina restaurants,

entertainment by local artists, a silent auction,

and presentation of the


at the Medina County Arts Council's


Thurs., June 7, 2018    6:30-8:30 p.m.     

Buffalo Creek Retreat,  8708 Hubbard Valley Road,  Seville, Ohio

Click here for RESERVATIONS for the 2018 Summer Soirée!


Click here for MAIL-IN Reservation form.

Below: 2017 Summer Soirée & Service to the Arts Awards

Above: 2017 Summer Soirée and Service to the Arts photographs by Russ Huston

On Thursday, June 8, 2017,  Medina County Arts Council members and friends of the arts celebrated the accomplishments of those who have shown a commitment to enriching Medina County through the arts.

This festive evening, also a fundraiser to help support the arts in Medina County, included art, music, wine, a silent auction, and delicious hors d'oeuvres – all in the pastoral setting of the the Hubbard Valley Park's Buffalo Creek Retreat.   The evening included performances by violinists Becky Ensworth and Olivia Deptowicz, jazz guitarist Eric Paetz, and the Wadsworth Community Band Clarinet Trio: Caroling Stilwell, Carrie Wible and Jeff Young.  Demonstrating their visual art skills were color pencil artist Donna Crane, acrylic artist Henry Edinger, origami by Jamie Piechuta, and Judy Totts with Ukranian eggs. 

Honored with the 2017 Individual Service to the Arts Awards were:

Paulette Grubb is a Wadsworth artist who is known best for her large canvases and murals at the Akron Children's Hospital.  Her work has been featured in Ohio Magazine and she has volunteered countless creative hours in Wadsworth and the region.

Kathy Kraus is a life-long educator and multi-media artist.  Her forte is her mural paintings found throughout Medina County.  Kathy's accomplishments in regard to the arts are immeasurable.  She is a world-traveler and historical re-enactor, and past president of the Art League, and current president of the Medina County Branch of the AAUW.

This year's Organizational Service to the Arts Award was given to ORMACO (Ohio Regional Music Arts Cultural Outreach) for their programs focusing on music, arts and cultural outreach in Medina County and surrounding areas.  Founded by Thomas Sigel, ORMACO continues to thrive as an all-volunteer non-profit that provides accessibility to world-class performances to Medina County and surrounding areas for all to enjoy.

Read about the 2017 Soirée"Medina County Life" article by Angela Huston,  photos by Russ Huston

Providing savory and delicious hors d'oeuvres for our event were: A Cupcake a DayCorkscrew SaloonCourthouse PizzeriaMiss Molly's Tea RoomOne Eleven BistroP. J. Marleys, Santo Suossos, and Gandalf's Pub.  Additional thanks to: L'Nique, and Superior Beverage Group

Below: 2016 Summer Soirée & Service to the Arts Awards

On Thursday, June 16, 2016,  Medina County Arts Council members and friends of the arts celebrated the accomplishments of those who have shown a commitment to enriching Medina County through the arts. 

Read about the 2016 Soirée: "Medina County Life" article by Angela Huston,  photos by Russ Huston

Recipients of Service to the Arts Awards  

2017: Paulette Grubb, Kathy Kraus, ORMACO

2015/16: Sarah Jane Ingraham, Michael Sferro, Cliffside Artists Collaborative

2014: Donna Stevens Mittler, St. Matthew Evangelical Lutheran Church 

2013: Nancy Walters Sprowls***

2012: 30th Anniversary Leadership in the Arts Award:                                                                   The American Association of University Women, Medina County Branch;  Robert Bux;    The Medina County Arts Council Past Presidents:  Pat Boyle, 1982- 1984;  Marcus Neiman, 1984- 1986;  Maxine Nichols, 1986- 1987;  Bob Smith, 1987- 1988;  Georgia Shy, 1988-1989;  Dr. Caesar Carrino, 1989- 1990;  Nancy Sprowls, 1990- 1993;  Todd Power, 1993- 1996;  Syl Balash, 1996- 1998;  Thomas Bahr, 1998- 1999;  Mike Harris, 1999- 2000;  Murray McDade, 2000- 2001;  Mike Harris, 2001-2003;  Susan Hambley, 2003- 2005;  Roger Smalley, 2005- 2007;  Dan Hostetler, 2007- 2013

2011:  Jay Wardeska,  Brunswick Art Works

2010:  Thomas Sigel ,  Gerald Carasea,  St. Paul’s Episcopal Church

2009:  Donna Bica,  Stage Left Theatre Company,  Rick Williams**

2008:  Sue Becks,  Downtown Wadsworth

2007:  Betty Havel,  Medina General Hospital

2006:  JoAnn Rettig-Rau,  Western Reserve Bank

2005:  Elaine Lamb,  First Merit Bank

2004:  Elmer Zarney*,  Dr. DeLorre Haddad,  Highland School District

2003:  Sandra Harris,  The Galaxy Restaurant,  Rob Levandoski**

2002:  Debbie and Richard Bock,  The Medina City School District

2001:  Phyllis and Homer Baldwin*,  The Brunswick City School District

2000:  Alice Hartman Chester*,  Sara Hammerschmidt*,  Medina County Performing Arts Foundation

1999:  Senator Grace Drake,  Wadsworth City Recreation Department

1998:  Georgia Shy,  The Wadsworth Public Library

1997:  Edmund Siennicki*,  Kiwanis Breakfast Club of Medina,  Kathie and Todd Power

1996:  Marlene Jividen,  Brunswick City Cultural and Performing Arts Program

1995:  Mike Rose,  GTE

1994:  Kurt Sauer,  Wadsworth City Schools Performing Arts Foundation

1993:  Dr. Caesar Carrino,  Columbia Gas Company

1992:  Homer Smith,  The Medina County District Library

1991:  The Medina County Art League,  Williams-on-the-Lake

1990:  Maxine Nichols*,  Curtis and Sally Brown,  A. I. Root Company

1988:  Nancy Sprowls,  The Medina County Commissioners,  Realty One

1987:  Marcus Neiman,  Dr. Max Brent,  Old Phoenix Bank,  Westfield Companies

1986:  Dr. Robert Arnold

*  Lifetime Service to the Arts Award 

** Special Award of Recognition

*** Lifetime Achievement in the Arts